Sangria

The perfect drink, in my opinion. For the holidays or whenever you want it!

So it might sound crazy that sangria can be non-vegan, for those of you who do not know that wine is usually not vegan. But fortunately there are some brands that are vegan.

For example in non-vegan wines they use ingredients from the animals kingdom. They use egg whites for the wine to clear, it is the protein in the egg that sort of collects all the particles and sink to the bottom. This makes it easy to collect and get rid of it.

Other frekvent animal ingredients are gelatin and casein. Casein is used in white wines to correct the color of it.

Gelatin is also used to clarify the wine. But there are other ways to do this without the use of animal ingredients.

There’s pea protein that works just as well and bentonite clay as well. So there’s a way to enjoy the drink we all love without the use of animals. Isn’t that amazing?!

So here’s my recipe for Sangria

(There are about a hundred different recipes)

4 servings

1/2 a bottle of red wine (I used patchwork red wine)

1 orange

1 lemon

1 lime

1/2 a bottle (1/2 of 1,5l=75ml) of 7up/Sprite or fruity soda/lemonade.

Ice

Slice all fruits in thin slices. Get a pitcher and pour the wine and soda in. Stir lightly and put the fruits in. Fill with ice and let it chill for a minute.

Serve! And enjoy 😘

Leave a Reply